top of page
  • Writer's pictureJosh Herbert

2020: Lets catch up

Updated: Jan 29, 2021

I have pretty much left this site hanging since April. Seems to be a habit now. My bad. So here is a run down on the season that wasn't much of a season at all:


- I wrapped my car grey so all of the body panels match for the first time since 2018. Consensus: It looks awesome. People who wrap cars for a living deserve every penny.


- Entered the Pineview Challenge Cup (PVCC). Under the new rules fall into Class 2 (C2). Can I win my class three years in a row?


- Test day at Pineview. 1:13.7: Already a full second faster that 2019.

- Then ran a 1:12.6 during a PVCC event. Which is 2 seconds faster than 2019 and is a tenth away from the overall fastest street tire lap at Pineview. New goal acquired.


- Bought a 1995 M3. This is a great project since the FRS was doing so well and will serve as my fun street car. More on that later.



- First track day of the year at Watkins Glen with NASA. Battled a novice driver in an R35 and beat my personal best lap time by 8 tenths in the same session.



- Can't seem to beat the street tire record at Pineview. IDK if the tires are falling off or if the car doesn't stick as well as the ambient temperatures are dropping. Maybe it is me. But I decided to switch the car to E85 for a few extra hrspurrs.



9/26: Pineview challenge cup championship. Bad news, a stupid mistake on a warm up lap put me 4 tires off and out of club championship contention. Good news, E85 and a no f*cks given 10/10ths lap is what it took! New street tire/C2 lap record and a third consecutive class championship!




October 10th NYST and my first 86 Cup event: This was my first track day (excluding Pineview) with E85. Despite ridiculously packed run groups, competing with 86 cup was a lot of fun. I managed to squeak in an almost traffic free lap in a warm up session and it was good enough to land me 2nd place among the boosted boys in the unlimited class. There is an easy second left on an open lap.


October 19th: Very cold at Palmer: It seems I can only go to Palmer motorsports park in extreme weather. 2017: 95+ degree temps. 2019: apocalyptic downpour. 2020: 30 degree temps. I did manage a personal best before my A052s checked out for the season.


And that catches you up.


I have currently started work on a lower, wider and deeper front splitter that is removable with no tools. As well as a custom chassis mounted 9 Lives wing. Project M3 is in full swing with a complete power steering restoration including the much needed Z3 rack upgrade, PS oil cooler, secured oil pump nut and other improvements. Lots of BIG news in 2021. I will catch you up on all of this and more in the next few weeks.


42 views0 comments
bottom of page